Kinx's Book Nook: Stacking the Shelves

Sunday, December 9, 2012

Stacking the Shelves

Stacking The Shelves is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. This means you can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course ebooks!

For Review:

Chase Tinker and the House of Magic by Malia Ann Haberman

In Chase Tinker's world, magic, lies and secrets can be a lethal combination...

Thirteen-year-old Chase Tinker can't understand why he has the power to move things with his mind. Besides that, his dad has been missing for over a year, causing his mom to be too upset to pay much attention to her sons, so now he's been busted for shoplifting. As if this isn't enough to worry about, his younger brother Andy suddenly has a weird magical ability too.

Can things get any crazier? Chase thinks.

Then, a grandfather they thought to be long dead arrives at their door. He wants Chase and Andy to come visit him for the summer so they can learn about their supernatural heritage and why they have magical powers in the first place.

The boys soon find out that Grandfather, along with their cousin Janie, lives on a remote island in the middle of Puget Sound in an out-of-this-world house where fantastic magic can be found in practically every room, stairway and corridor. Chase can't believe their dad has been keeping so much from them.

It's an even bigger shock when Chase learns that all their magic is controlled by a very powerful and mysterious Relic in the attic, and if anything happens to this relic, every bit of Tinker magic will be lost forever. He's even more disturbed when he learns his family has a dark and powerful enemy that is determined to steal all their magic, their house and their relic.

Now Chase must find a way to stop these evil beings, while at the same time figuring out what has happened to his dad, unraveling even more Tinker lies and secrets and not letting on that he has a huge crush on the housekeeper's daughter.

Won from Dark Jane Austen Book Club Giveaway:

The Mistress's Black Veil by M.K. Baxley

In this new twist to Jane Austen's favorite romance, M. K. Baxley explores the road that might have been taken had one small alteration occurred in the original plot. Instead of Lydia Bennet going to Brighton while Lizzy toured the Lakes, what if she had gone instead while Elizabeth visited Charlotte in Kent?

In this tale of Pride and Prejudice, Elizabeth was called home immediately after receiving Mr. Darcy's letter. Her father, while searching for his youngest daughter in London, succumbed to a cold and later died of heart failure. The subsequent events that follow are told in the narrative fashion of Henry Fielding's Tom Jones and within the manner of Jane Austen.

The Mistress's Black Veil begins five years after that fateful day at Hunsford Parsonage when Mr. Darcy proposed to Elizabeth Bennet. The Bennets, now reduced to poverty after the death of Mr. Bennet, are barely surviving, having been thrown into the hedgerow by their cousin, Mr. Collins, at the directive of his noble patroness Lady Catherine de Bourgh. As the situation becomes even more desperate, Elizabeth makes a difficult and irrevocable choice that will forever change her life and the lives of the ones she loves. In the end will she and Fitzwilliam Darcy find their way to their happily ever after?

The Mistress's Black Veil, influenced
by Nathaniel Hawthorne's short story, "The Minister's Black Veil", is for mature readers only.

The Cumberland Plateau (Book #1 of The Modern Pemberly Series) by M.K. Baxley
A Pride and Prejudice Modern Sequel

What if Mr. Bennet had an older brother? And what if that brother had given up his birthright in order to marry the woman he loved? How would that one little change affect the future? The Cumberland Plateau attempts to answer those questions and reunite the American Bennetts with their English cousins.

Separated by circumstances beyond their control, two brothers make a promise. John Bennet, the elder brother of Jane Austen's beloved Mr. Bennet is forced to leave England, but before he departs, he vows to his brother that their family will someday be united. Two hundred years later, Dr. Fitzwilliam Darcy II, takes a teaching position at a small university. He is not expecting to find a woman who captivates him as the beautiful Elizabeth Bennett does, nor does he have any idea that she is descended from a lost branch of his family. They meet and fall in love, but will his aristocratic family and elite world of privilege accept her?

Fitzwilliam's younger brother, David, is a man scarred by his past. He has no desire for love, marriage, or family life until he meets a beautiful corporate executive from Charleston, South Carolina. She turns his world upside down as she haunts his dreams and waking moments almost from the beginning of their acquaintance. As the brothers face numerous challenges, will they be able to keep the women they love?

Dana Darcy (Book #2 The Modern Pemberly Series) by M.K. Baxley

Dana Darcy is a Southern Gothic tale of Pride and Prejudice set in London, England and Charleston, South Carolina. It is told in two parts.

Part One begins in London where Fitzwilliam Darcy and his wife, the former Elizabeth Bennett of Tennessee, discover a lost and lonely child who bears a strong resemblance to Fitzwilliam's mother, Anne Darcy.

Two months before his marriage in The Cumberland Plateau, David Darcy, in an attempt to forget Cecilia Lawton, the woman who held claim to his heart, had one last encounter with his long time lover Sandra Hamilton. But when he realized Sandra was in love with him, he broke off their relationship never to return again. Seven years have passed and once again Sandra Hamilton will reenter his life, this time with a little girl. As Sandra lies dying, will David come, and more importantly, will he love and accept the daughter he never knew existed?

Part Two of Dana Darcy opens in Charleston, set in the rich culture and tradition of the Gullah People, former slaves of the rice and cotton planters on the Sea Islands and Coastal Plains of South Carolina and Georgia. Against the will of those who tried to conquer them, they have held to their ways...ways little understood and greatly feared by many.

An old family curse has haunted the Lawton Family of the Carolina Lowcounry since 1820. With her marriage to David and the subsequent birth of their three sons, Cecilia believes the curse to be broken. But is it really, and more importantly, who placed the curse and why?

As the story begins to unravel, an aging Root Doctor, Peter Morgan, finds himself pressed back into service as he tries to learn the truth about the strange happenings within the family he loves and works for. A snake, a cat, and a blood rose, what do they mean?

The Cumberland Plateau continues as David Darcy must face his earlier mistakes and reconcile his past with the present in order break the curse and come to love the little girl that calls him Daddy.

This novel is a classic Southern Gothic tale. It contains Christian elements with Spiritual Warfare and some violence but is not sexual in content. Although this is the second book in a series, it is a stand alone work.


  1. Those Hadley books sounds great. I hope they live up to your expectations

  2. Oooh intriguing reads! Haven't heard of these but I hope you enjoy them all!

    Here's my STS

    Have a GREAT day!

    Old Follower :)


I love any and all comments! It keeps me honest!